Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

A threshold is a point of entering; that point just before a new beginning — that split-second moment in time, full of anticipation. All the hard work is over; relief is palpable.

During my study tour with DIS in Istanbul, I had a chance to visit the Sultan Ahmet Mosque AKA the blue mosque.
Once I stepped over the threshold, it felt as if I have entered a magical realm.
This is probably the first time in my life to be inside a mosque this big. As a Muslim, I naturally felt obliged to pray there.

However, we were not there during prayer time. I decided to do Tahiyyat Al Masjid or the prayer of greeting the mosque in order to pay respect. While others were taking selfies (again lol) and getting ready to go to our next stop, I took my time to embrace my spirituality.
I haven’t been home for almost 9 months, but this made me almost felt like I was home again. I was somewhere I belong 🙂

Threshold = (n.) ธรณีประตู, ทางเข้า
Anticipation = (n.) การรอคอยอย่างคาดหวัง
Relief = (n.)  หารผ่อนคลาย    Relieve (v.)
Palpable = (adj.) ชัดเจน
Realm = (n.)  อาณาจักร
Respect = (n.v.)  เคารพ

IMG_8941

Sultan Ahmet Masjid or the Blue Mosque

  IMG_8938

 

